Dhaka Dynamites Rangpur Riders Cricket Prevail Final Over Thriller Bpl 2019 > Cricket News, cricinfo, mobilecric, cricbuzz, livescore and more

Dhaka Dynamites prevail in final-over thriller

Cricket news - Dhaka Dynamites prevail in final-over thriller

Dhaka Dynamites vs Rangpur Riders

Off-break bowler Aliss Islam was at the heart of a sensational BPL game, as he first picked a hat-trick to trigger a collapse and then just about managed to defend 14 in the final over of a high-scoring fixture between the top two sides in the ongoing season.

Dhaka Dynamites rode on a middle-order recovery after the top three batsmen flattered to deceive. After Shakib laid the foundation for recovery, Kieron Pollard teed off with a 26-ball 62, including five fours and four sixes. Andre Russell too peeled off three sixes in his 13-ball 23 as the Dynamites finished with 183 for 9 in 20 overs. Shafiul Islam was the pick of the bowlers for the Riders, finishing with 3 for 35.

Riders too didn't have a flying start as their openers Chris Gayle and Mehedi Maruf fell cheaply. Rilee Rossouw and Mohammad Mithun were involved in a 121-run partnership for the third wicket off just 72 balls. Islam first broke the stand by dismissing Rossouw for a 44-ball 83 and then picked up a hat-trick - dismissing Mohammad Mithun, Mashrafe Mortaza and Farhad Reza.

That left Riders to chase 24 off the last 12 balls. Sunil Narine, who had been carted around in his previous three overs for 31 runs - gave his team a bit of a tilt going into the final over by conceding nine runs. Islam returned to rattle the chasers in the final over but began shakily. He conceded two fours in the first two deliveries, but recovered well to narrow it down to four off the final ball. Shafiul Islam couldn't put it away, giving Dynamites a two-run victory.

Brief Scores: Dhaka Dynamites 183/9 in 20 overs (Kieron Pollard 62, Shakib Al Hasan 36; Shafiul Islam 3-35) beat Rangpur Riders 181/9 in 20 overs (Rilee Rossouw 83, Mohammad Mithun 49; Aliss Islam 4-26) by 2 runs

Comilla Victorians vs Rajshahi Kings

Shahid Afridi powered Comilla Victorians to a comfortable five-wicket win after an exceptional spell of 3 for 10 from 4 overs. Liam Dawson, Mohammad Saifuddin and Abu Hider Rony picked up two wickets each to bundle out Rajshahi Kings for just 124 in the 19th over. The only modicum of fight came from captain and opener Mehidy Hasan at the top and No. 9 batsman Isuru Udana, who helped drag the team past the three-figure mark.

In response, Victorians flew right from the outset with Anamul Haque and Evin Lewis smashing 65 together in 7.1 overs. Tamim Iqbal too made a sizeable contribution from No.3. When a minor hiccup came, Victorians were within touching distance of the target. Fittingly, Afridi - the man who set the game up brilliantly with the ball - finished off the target with a big six.

Brief Scores: Rajshahi Kings 124 in 18.5 overs (Isuru Udana 32, Mehidy Hasan 30, Zakir Hasan 27; Shahid Afridi 3-10, Liam Dawson 2-17, Mohammad Saifuddin 2-25) lost to Comilla Victorians 130/5 in 18.4 overs (Anamul Haque 40, Evin Lewis 28; Qais Ahmad 1-21) by 5 wickets

Live Home Series
Player Schedule
Points Table Cricket Rankings
BTI 2018 CPL 2018
Cricinfo Apps Download