We Have Assigned Sarfraz, But That Doesn't Say, We Brush The Incident Under The Table - Du-Plessis > Cricket News, cricinfo, mobilecric, cricbuzz, livescore and more

Cricket news - We forgive Sarfraz but that doesn't mean we brush the incident under the table - du Plessis

We're gracious. We forgive quite easily, except maybe against the Aussies: Du Plessis

The South Africa team award, Sarfraz Ahmed, for his on-field comments that came across as racist, against Andile Phehlukwayo during the second ODI in Durban, Faf du Plessis said on Thursday (January 24), followed by the third ODI.

"We forgive him, because he said, sorry," the South African said niche skipper. "He has apologized, and the responsibility for it. Not to do it is in our hands, and the ICC will now have. If you are coming to South Africa, you must be very careful when you make racist comments. I'm sure he didn't mean anything, but he has taken responsibility, and we will see what the result is. This is not something to take what we, as a team, but the fact that he apologised for a means immediately, it is regret about his role.

"We are not going to take it easy, but the fact that it was regret, shows a prompt apology. We can forgive, but that doesn't mean we brush it under the table."

While South Africa, Pakistan, 203 hunt in Durban, Sarfraz was again by the mic stump, Phehlukwayo "black man call delivery" in Urdu as the latter to the non-striker's end. The Pakistan captain of the Keeper literally translates to: "Hey, black man, where is your mother today? What [the prayer], you have to tell her that for you today?"

The next day, Sarfraz on Twitter for the issue of an apology and the Pakistan Cricket Board took released a statement in which it "regrets about the remark of the captain". After receipt of the report of the referee, the ICC is currently looking into the matter. If the Pakistan captain is to be formally charged, and this will see his first action for him, suspended for four to eight games. But, if the matter by the arbitration panel, in accordance with article 4 of the ICC anti-racism code, then it is not a formal disciplinary action.

For his part, Phehlukwayo't realized Sarfraz had barrier designs on the instance because of the obvious language. "Andy [Phehlukwayo] says he didn't even notice it and so felt it was not really addressed to him," said du Plessis. "I don't suppose, maybe, because we understand it makes a bit of a difference. But it didn't sit well with us. It seemed to regret it immediately.

"We are friendly. We forgive easily, except, perhaps, against the Aussies."

Live Home Series
Player Schedule
Points Table Cricket Rankings
Cricket Clothing Cricket Equipment
Cricinfo Apps Download