Imrul Kayes Gets Centre Treaty; Liton Promoted To Grade B > Cricket News, cricinfo, mobilecric, cricbuzz, livescore and more

Cricket news - Imrul Kayes gets central contract; Liton promoted to Grade B

Kayes did not have a contract last year

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has increased the number of players under the central contract for the year 2019 from 10 to 12, apart from five rookies. Imrul Kayes, who did not have a contract last year, has been handed a Grade A contract.

Last year, BCB had handed out central contracts to 10 cricketers under three categories - Grade A+, A and B, apart from having Liton Das, Nazmul Hossain and Abu Haider in the rookie list. While Liton has been promoted to Grade B this year, Nazmul misses out on a contract.

Alongside Abu Haider, BCB has also included four new faces in the rookie category by including Abu Jayed Rahi, Mohammad Saifuddin, Naeem Hasan and Khaled Ahmed.

Though BCB did not announced any increase of salary of the contracted cricketers, it was learnt they will take a decision in this regard in the upcoming days.

Imrul was a surprise omission from the 15-member squad for the upcoming tour of New Zealand and remained a talking point since the announcement of the squad. His inclusion in the central contract list indicates he is not totally out of the radar of the national selectors.

While the left-hander recently lambasted the national selection panel for axing him, BCB president Nazmul Hasan on Monday indicated that they are considering him for the upcoming tour of New Zealand.

"If we need a back up for New Zealand we don't have many options apart from Imrul as we don't have a place for a pacer or spinner. But this is totally my personal observation because his name was not proposed to the officials," Nazmul told reporters while announcing the central contract that was approved in the BCB board meeting on Saturday.

Grade A+: Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza, Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah

Grade A: Imrul Kayes, Mustafizur Rahman and Rubel Hossain

Grade B: Taijul Islam, Mehidy Hasan, Liton Das and Mominul Haque.

Rookie category: Abu Haider Rony, Abu Jayed Rahi, Mohammad Saifuddin, Nayeem Hasan and Syed Khaled Ahmed

Live Home Series
Player Schedule
Points Table Cricket Rankings
Cricket Clothing Cricket Equipment
Cricinfo Apps Download