Sunil Narine Strikes The Chittagong Vikings > Cricket News, cricinfo, mobilecric, cricbuzz, livescore and more

Cricket news - Sunil Narine knocks out Chittagong Vikings

Narine took 4 for 15 as the Vikings were restricted to a sub-par135/8.

Chittagong Vikings vs Dhaka Dynamites, Dhaka

Sunil Narine blew away Chittagong Vikings with figures of 4-0-15-4 and a 16-ball 31, taking Dhaka Dynamites one step closer to another final appearance in the Bangladesh Premier League.

Vikings made a shaky start with the early dismissal of Yasir Ali but Cameron Delport and Shadman Islam scored 34 off the next 4.3 overs. Once that stand was broken, Narine quickly rattled them further by dismissing Mushfiqur Rahim and Islam in the space of two overs.

Mosaddek Hossain's attempts at reviving the innings didn't quite take off as he didn't have support at the other end, as Narine removed Robbie Frylinck and Hardus Viljoen for a run each. Hossain made a fighting 35-ball 40 but Vikings could only get to 135 for 8.

When Narine fell in the fifth over, the Dynamites already had 44 runs to their tally. Upul Tharanga then forged another 44-run stand with No.3 batsman Rony Talukdar. Khaled Ahmed piqued the interest of Vikings' fans, removing Talukdar and Shakib Al Hasan off successive deliveries. But Nurul Hasan Kieron Pollard combined to secure the win, with six wickets and 20 balls to spare.

Brief Scores: Chittagong Vikings 135/8 in 20 overs (Mosaddek Hossain 40; Sunil Narine 4-15) lost to Dhaka Dynamites 136/4 in 16.4 overs (Upul Tharanga 51, Sunil Narine 31; Khaled Ahmed 3-20) by 6 wickets

Rangpur Riders vs Comilla Victorians, Dhaka

Evin Lewis fired 2015-16 champions Comilla Victorians to the final with a 53-ball 71 - that included five fours and three sixes - as they peeled off 167 runs in chase with seven balls to spare. Rangpur Riders who topped the points table will now have to play Dhaka Dynamites in the second qualifier on Wednesday.

Despite the best efforts of the Riders troika Chris Gayle (46 off 44), Rilee Rossouw (44 off 31) and Benny Howell (53 not out off 28), Riders could only post 165/5 as the other batsmen couldn't get going. The three other batsmen who featured - Mehedi Maruf, Mohammad Mithun and Ravi Bopara - made scores of 1, 3 and 3.

Victorians didn't have that trouble as the top-four batters completed the task at hand. They were ably led by Lewis's essay, while Anamul Haque (39 off 32) and Shamsur Rahman (34 off 15) put in key contributions.

Brief Scores: Rangpur Riders 165/5 in 20 overs (Benny Howell 53*, Chris Gayle 46, Rilee Rossouw 44; Sanjit Saha 1-14) lost to Comilla Victorians 166/2 in 18.5 overs (Evin Lewis 71*, Anamul Haque 39, Shamsur Rahman 34*) by 8 wickets

Live Home Series
Player Schedule
Points Table Cricket Rankings
Cricket Clothing Cricket Equipment
Cricinfo Apps Download