Jaffer's 1000-run Season, Vidarbha's Successful Defense Of His Title > Cricket News, cricinfo, mobilecric, cricbuzz, livescore and more

Cricket news - Jaffer's 1000-run season, Vidarbha's successful title defence

Vidarbha became the sixth team to successfully defend their title.

Vidarbha beat Saurashtra by 78 runs in Nagpur to win the 2018-19 Ranji Trophy for the second year in a row. Here are some stats highlights from the 85th edition of Ranji Trophy:

6 Vidarbha became the sixth team to successfully defend their title. The other sides to do so are Bombay/Mumbai (multiple times), Maharashtra (1939/40 and 1940/41), Delhi (1978/79 and 1979/80), Rajasthan (2010/11 and 2011/12) and Karnataka (1997/98 and 1998/99; 2013/14 and 2014/15).

149 Ranji Trophy appearances for Wasim Jaffer - the most for a player in the tournament. He went past the previous record of 145 matches by Madhya Pradesh's Devendra Bundela during Vidarbha's last league game against Saurashtra in Rajkot. Earlier in the season, he became the first player to go past 11,000 runs in Ranji Trophy.

2 Wasim Jaffer became the first player in the history of 85-year old Ranji Trophy to aggregate 1000-plus runs in two seasons. He amassed 1260 runs for Mumbai ten years ago in the 2008/09 which was then record for Mumbai in a season. In this season, he became the first player to go past 1000 runs in a season for Vidarbha.

8 Double hundreds scored by Paras Dogra - the most by a player in Ranji Trophy surpassing seven by Ajay Sharma for Delhi between 1984/85 and 1999/00. Dogra scored 253 for Puducherry against Sikkim in Wayanad to mark his eight score of over 200 in his Ranji career, having scored the previous seven for his home state Himachal Pradesh.

1331 Runs scored by Sikkim's Milind Kumar in the season - the second highest aggregate for a season in Ranji Trophy after VVS Laxman's 1415 runs for Hyderabad in 1999/00. He hit six tons in the season is the joint second most for a season in Ranji Trophy alongside Kedar Jadhav (in 2013/14) after Laxman's eight hundreds 1999/00.

267* The unbeaten 267 by Madhya Pradesh's Ajay Rohera is the highest by player on his first class as well as Ranji Trophy debut. He went past the previous record set by Amol Muzumdar who scored 260 for Bombay against Haryana in Faridabad in 1993/94 season, which was his debut first class game.

20 Double centuries scored in the 2018/19 season of Ranji Trophy - the joint second most in a single season after 24 200-plus score in 2016/17. There were 20 such scores in the 1991/92 edition as well. Sikkim's Milind Kumar scored back to back double hundreds in his first two outings in the season - 261 in a total of 372 against Manipur and 224 in a total of 374 against Nagaland.

1 Pankaj Singh became the tenth bowler overall and first pacer in Ranji Trophy to reach the milestone of 400 wickets. He appeared as a professional for Puducherry this season after having played for Rajasthan for 14 seasons from 2004/05. He started the season with 364 wickets and took 45 more in the season as he went past R Vinay Kumar who has 397 wickets to his credit.

68 Wickets taken by Bihar's left-arm spinner Ashutosh Aman in the 2018/19 edition - the most ever in a single season of the tournament surpassing the 44-year record by veteran left-arm spinner Bishan Bedi, who took 64 wickets for Delhi in 1974/75. 59 wickets by Saurashtra's left-arm spinner Dharmendra Jadeja is the fifth highest tally for a season.

7 Players with 50-plus wickets this season - the most in a single season of the tournament surpassing four from the 1999/00 edition. Of the seven bowlers to bag in excess of 50 scalps, three were from the Plate Division - Bihar's Ashutosh Aman, Meghalaya's Gurinder Singh and Sikkim's Ishwar Chaudhary.

Most wickets in 2018/19 season

6 Hat-tricks in the current season - the most in a single edition of the tournament surpassing four instances from the 1999/00 season. Mohammad Mudhasir (J & K), Mohammed Mohammed (TN), Deepak Dhapola (Uttarakhand), Tahmeed Rahman (Nagaland), Ashutosh Aman (Bihar) and Rush Kalaria (Gujarat) were the bowlers to effect hat-tricks in this season.

351 Dismissals effected by Madhya Pradesh's Naman Ojha in Ranji Trophy matches - the most ever in the tournament going past 335 by Mumbai's Vinayak Samant, who also played for Assam and Tripura. Ojha had 320 dismissals to his credit at the start of the season and effected another 31 from eight games this season.

372 The highest fourth innings target successfully chased down in the history of Ranji Trophy - by Saurashtra in their quarter final clash against Uttar Pradesh in Lucknow. The previous highest was 370 by Assam against Services in Palam in 2008/09 season.

826/7 declared by Meghalaya against Sikkim in Bhuvneshwar is the sixth highest team total in the history of Ranji Trophy and the first time a side has gone past the 800-run mark since 1993/94 when Hyderabad posted 944/6 declared against Andhra in Secunderabad, the highest ever total in the tournament.

Innings & 384 runs Winning margin for Uttar Pradesh against Tripura in the league encounter in Lucknow. It is the fifth-biggest margin of innings win in the history of the tournament and the second-biggest in the last 65 years of the tournament after Assam's innings and 472 runs win against Tripura in 1991/92, the biggest ever innings win in Ranji Trophy.

Biggest innings wins in Ranji Trophy

Live Home Series
Player Schedule
Points Table Cricket Rankings
Cricket Clothing Cricket Equipment
Cricinfo Apps Download