Shammi Silva Appointed As The Chairman Of The SLC > Cricket News, cricinfo, mobilecric, cricbuzz, livescore and more

Cricket news - Shammi Silva appointed as president of SLC

Shammi Silva had previously served as the member of executive committee of the board in 2014

Shammi Silva, on Thursday (February 21), was elected as the new president of Sri Lanka Cricket.

Silva, who was backed by former president Thilanga Sumathipala, garnered 83 out of possible 142 votes while his rival, Jayantha Dharmadasa, received 56 votes. Silva had previously served as the member of executive committee of the board in 2014.

The SLC election was slated to be held on February 02 this month. However, it was postponed by two weeks as per the advice of the Attorney General.

Earlier, in August 2018, the board had noted that the elections would take place by February 9 after a delegation met the ICC to petition for more time. A four-member management panel was also named to run SLC's day-to-day activities alongside the Kamal Padmasiri-led competent authority, which in turn was appointed by the sports ministry.

The elections have been delayed since May last year after the court, hearing on a petition filed against then SLC president Sumathipala by the board's presidential candidate Nishantha Ranatunga, observed that the election protocol had been breached.

The final result saw most of the previous members holding on to their respective positions, only Sumathipala and Dharmadasa were the only ones to miss out from SLC's previous election in 2016.

World Cup winning captain Arjuna Ranatunga lost to Wickremaratne for the vice president's role. Lasantha Wickremasinghe won the race for the post of treasure, while Lalith Rambukwella beat his opponent to claim the assistant treasurer's position. Chrishantha Kapuwatha defeated Hirantha Perera to win the assistant secretary's chair.

Live Home Series
Player Schedule
Points Table Cricket Rankings
Cricket Clothing Cricket Equipment
Cricinfo Apps Download