CSA-award National Contracts To Hendricks, De Bruyn > Cricket News, cricinfo, mobilecric, cricbuzz, livescore and more

Cricket news - CSA award national contracts to Hendricks, de Bruyn

Reeza Hendricks impressed in the ODI set up last year

South Africa have awarded full national contracts to Reeza Hendricks and Theunis de Bruyn for the 2019-20 season. Meanwhile, JP Duminy, the veteran batsman, and Imran Tahir, the seasoned legspinner, have been dropped from the contract list.

Hendricks, the opening batsman, scored 413 runs at an average of 31.76 in ODIs last year. On the other hand, de Bruyn accumulated 201 runs in the longest format in 2018, which included a fine century in unfamiliar climes in Sri Lanka. Duminy, who hasn't played for South Africa since the limited overs series against Zimbabwe last year due to a knee injury, doesn't find a place in the rooster. Tahir, who picked up 15 scalps in ODIs at a modest average of 35.46 in 2018, also misses out.

The list also doesn't included Duanne Olivier after the fast bowler decided against furthering his international career by signing a Kolpak deal with Yorkshire County Cricket Club.

The contracts cover South Africa's tours to India in October and March, the home series versus England next summer and also the limited overs series against Australia apart from this year's ICC Cricket World Cup.

The board also announced the contract list of women's players, which covers the ICC Women's T20 WC Cup to be played in Australia in 2020. It also takes into consideration series against Pakistan at home as well as overseas tours to India and New Zealand.

"We have contracted 16 men's players and 14 women's players which we feel is the appropriate number to maintain our national squads across the various formats," Thabang Moroe, CSA's chief executive, said. "This enables us to contract both our Test players as well as those who are limited overs specialists."

CSA contracted men's players: Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Reeza Hendricks, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn

CSA contracted women's players: Trisha Chetty, Mignon du Preez, Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Lizelle Lee, Sune Luus, Zintle Mali, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Tumi Sekhukhune, Chloe Tryon, Dane van Niekerk, Laura Wolvaardt

Live Home Series
Player Schedule
Points Table Cricket Rankings
Cricket Clothing Cricket Equipment
Cricinfo Apps Download