Gujarat, Jharkhand, The Progress Of The Super League > Cricket News, cricinfo, mobilecric, cricbuzz, livescore and more

Cricket news - Gujarat, Jharkhand progress to Super League

Murali Vijay slammed a fine 107 off just 67 balls to help Tamil Nadu claim a massive win over Meghalaya, but they narrowly missed out on qualification.

Who qualified for the next stage?

Group A

Delhi confirmed the top spot in their group by seeing off Nagaland in a facile win. Suboth Bhati was the star for Delhi with figures of 4 for 14, while Hiten Dalal's 81 off just 41 balls enabled them to win with more than seven overs to spare.

In a direct shootout, Jharkhand beat Kerala by five wickets in the same group to seal their spot in the next stage. Kerala had scored 176/6 thanks to vital contributions from most of their batsmen, but Anand Singh (72), Virat Singh (46) and Saurabh Tiwary (50) all combined to help Jharkhand chase down the score in the final over.

Group B

Gujarat lost to Vidarbha in their final league game, but managed to still sneak through ahead of Tamil Nadu and Himachal Pradesh on the basis of a better run rate. Batting first, Gujarat could only muster 121/6 in their 20 overs, a total which Vidarbha overcame in the 19th over. The result meant Vidarbha finished first with 20 points, while Gujarat went through with a marginally better run rate despite being tied on points with HP and TN.

Group C

Mumbai finished atop the table in the final standing after Railways lost to Punjab on Saturday.

Railways, who were already assured of their spot in the next stage, lost their last game to Punjab by three wickets. Mandeep Singh's vital 71 off 48 helped Punjab pull off the chase with one ball to spare.

Group D

Karnataka may have already qualified from their group by winning all of their six games in the group stages, but they ensured they did not let up any momentum by notching up their seventh straight win in the league phase. They overcame Haryana in their final game, with Shreyas Gopal and Prasidh Krishna taking three wickets each to help them defend 138.

Bengal also went through to the next stage, beating Odisha by 8 wickets at Cuttack. Ishan Porel was the pick of the bowlers for Bengal taking 3 for 19 as Odisha were restricted to 108. Bengal, riding on Wriddhiman Saha's fifty, completed the chase in the 13th over of the game.

Group E

All the games at the Palam Grounds in Delhi were washed out, helping Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh move to the next stage of the tournament.

Other noteworthy performances:

Mukthar Hussain helped Assam wrap up their campaign with a facile win over Arunachal Pradesh with superb figures of four wickets for just eight runs. It helped Assam win the game with 9 wickets and 13 overs to spare.

Kumar Kartikeya's superb spell of 3 for 10 of four overs helped Madhya Pradesh see off Sikkim in Indore. The bowler was all over the Sikkim batsmen as they folded for a paltry 114 in chase of 164.

Murali Vijay slammed a fine 107 off just 67 balls, a knock studded with nine fours and five sixes, to help Tamil Nadu claim a massive win over Meghalaya. Although Tamil Nadu won by 92 runs, they narrowly missed out on qualification.

Ricky Bhui smashed 59 off just 20 balls to help Andhra amass 252/4 in their 20 overs against Manipur. Andhra went on to win the match by 91 runs.

Live Home Series
Player Schedule
Points Table Cricket Rankings
Cricket Clothing Cricket Equipment
Cricinfo Apps Download