Karnataka, Maharashtra And Final Set The Date > Cricket News, cricinfo, mobilecric, cricbuzz, livescore and more

Cricket news - Karnataka, Maharashtra set final date

Siddesh Lad smashed a 44-ball 62 and took 3 wickets in Mumbai's easy win over Uttar Pradesh

Mumbai vs Uttar Pradesh

Led by Siddhesh Lad's half-century and a three-wicket haul, Mumbai registered their third consecutive win of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019, Super League, beating Uttar Pradesh by 46 runs. However, it didn't prove enough as they finished second on the points table, missing the final berth to Karnataka.

Lad's 44-ball 62 was well-supported by handy contributions from Eknath Kerkar (36-ball 46) and Shreyas Iyer (27-ball 43) as Mumbai posted 183 for 7 after being put in to bat.

In response, Uttar Pradesh were dented early as Shardul Thakur picked three quick wickets, leaving them play the chase all along. Shivam Dube bagged three scalps in the middle overs and Lad scalped three more late in the innings to bundle Uttar Pradesh out for 137.

Brief Scores: Mumbai 183/7 in 20 overs (Siddhesh Lad 62, Eknath Kerkar 46; Ankit Rajpoot 3-47, Mohsin Khan 1-28) beat Uttar Pradesh 137 in 19 overs (Saurabh Kumar 24, Priyam Garg 23; Shardul Thakur 3-15, Siddhesh Lad 3-23) by 46 runs.

Vidarbha vs Karnataka

Karnataka continued their winning run in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019, and with it, sealed their final berth after beating Vidarbha by 6 wickets in their final match of the Super League.

Led by a disciplined bowling attack, Karnataka managed to restrict Vidarbha to 138 for 7. Being reduced to 46 for 5, Apoorv Wankhade (41-ball 56*) and Akshay Karnewar (28-ball 33) revived their innings with a 66-run stand. But it proved too little as Rohan Kadam provided them yet another steady start (37-ball 39) and skipper Manish Pandey providing the final touches.

Brief Scores: Vidarbha 138/7 in 20 overs (Apoorv Wankhade 56*, Akshay Karnewar 33; Vinay Kumar 2-27, J Suchith 1-17) lost to Karnataka 140/4 in 19.2 overs (Manish Pandey 49*, Rohan Kadam 39; Yash Thakur 1-18, Akshay Wakhare 1-20) by 6 wickets.

Railways vs Maharashtra

Nikhil Naik's 58-ball 95, which included five sixes in the last over of Maharashtra's innings set the base for their fourth consecutive win of the Super League and sealed their spot in the final, where they will face Karnataka.

After losing the openers early, Naik put on a 119-run stand with Naushad Shaikh to lay a strong platform and then went on a solo overdrive, stroking four boundaries and 8 sixes in his innings to take Maharashtra to 177 for 5.

Mrunal Devdhar and Pratham Singh provided a solid start with a 68-run opening partnership for Railways but the chase fell wayward once the pair was separated in the eighth over. Divyang Himganekar, Satyajeet Bacchav and Naushad bagged a brace each, while Samad Fallah snared three to bowl Railways out for 156.

Brief Scores: Maharashtra 177/5 in 20 overs (Nikhil Naik 95*, Naushad Shaikh 59; Manjeet Singh 2-36, Ashish Yadav 1-29) beat Railways 156 in 20 overs (Mrunal Devdhar 55, Pratham Singh 29; Samad Fallah 3-37, Naushad Shaikh 2-8) by 21 runs.

Gujarat vs Bengal, Indore

Sayan Ghosh picked up 5 for 15 as Gujarat folded for 121 after a 44-ball 53 from Axar Patel. Wriddhiman Saha stroked an unbeaten half-century as Bengal eased to a seven-wicket win in the 19th over.

After opting to bat, Gujarat lost Parthiv Patel on the third ball of the game. Having moved to 27 for 1, the slide started with the wicket of Priyank Panchal. Ghosh then dismantled the Gujarat batting line-up as Axar continued to fight. Reduced to 54 for 7, Axar scored 54 with Hemang Patel (17) to take the side over 100. Once Ghosh accounted for Axar, Gujarat's lower-order gave up without much fight.

Bengal got off to a steady start with the openers scoring 28 before Jayveer Parmar picked two in two to remove Shreevats Goswami and Abhimanyu Easwaran. Saha kept the runs flowing and ensured the team got over the line with ease.

Brief scores: Gujarat 121 in 19.3 overs (Sayan Ghosh 5-15) lost to Bengal 125/3 in 18.2 overs (Wriddhiman Saha 53*) by seven wickets.

Live Home Series
Player Schedule
Points Table Cricket Rankings
Cricket Clothing Cricket Equipment
Cricinfo Apps Download