Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer Captain Of The India Against South Africa > Cricket News, cricinfo, mobilecric, cricbuzz, livescore and more

Cricket news - Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer to captain India A against South Africa A

Manish Pandey will captain India A in the first three one-dayers against SA A

Manish Pandey will captain India A in the first three one-dayers against South Africa A, while Shreyas Iyer will be taking over the reins in the final two games. The five-match series will be held in Thiruvananthapuram starting August 29.

The strong opening pair of Shubman Gill and Ruturaj Gaikwad, who has recently registered scores of 85 and 99 against West Indies A, is set to continue at the top for the first three matches. Prashant Chopra, who recently had a hundred against Sri Lanka A, has been included as a replacement for Gaikwad for the final two one-dayers.

Navdeep Saini was part of the A squad in West Indies and has stayed back with India's senior team as a back-up pacer, so hasn't been included for this series. Avesh Khan, the right-arm pacer, does not find a place; he had played two List A games in West Indies for figures of 1/14 and 3/62.

One of the notable pace inclusions has been Shardul Thakur, who last played a List A game against England Lions in January this year.

With Yuzvendra Chahal not part of India's red-ball plans in the immediate future, he has also been picked. Vijay Shankar failed to make the cut for the West Indies Tests owing to his foot injury but has now been picked to play this one-day series, meaning BCCI is looking at this five-match series as a gateway to his return to international cricket.

Shivam Dube only played the unofficial Tests in West Indies but now finds himself back in the limited-overs fold. The 26-year-old Mumbai all-rounder has been selected to play all five games.

India A team for 1st, 2nd and 3rd one-day: Manish Pandey (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Anmolpreet Singh, Ricky Bhui, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Vijay Shankar, Shivam Dube, Krunal Pandya, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Nitish Rana

India A team for 4th and 5th one-day: Shreyas Iyer (Captain), Shubman Gill, Prashant Chopra, Anmolpreet Singh, Ricky Bhui, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Nitish Rana, Vijay Shankar, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Rahul Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Tushar Deshpande, Ishan Porel

Live Home Series
Player Schedule
Points Table Cricket Rankings
Cricket Clothing Cricket Equipment
Cricinfo Apps Download