AIB Apex Council Candidates Everything You Need To Know > Cricket News, cricinfo, mobilecric, cricbuzz, livescore and more

Cricket news - BCCI apex council candidates - All you need to know

Sourav Ganguly was named as the sole BCCI president-elect nominee in Mumbai

With all the eight positions in the BCCI apex council going uncontested, if the nominations of the candidates are cleared on October 15, they will assume their respective roles on October 23. Here's a brief need-to-know about the candidates who have filed their nominations for the BCCI elections.

Sourav Ganguly: A former India captain and a two-time elected president of the Cricket Association of Bengal, Sourav Ganguly took over the charge of his state association immediately after the demise of Jagmohan Dalmiya in 2015. Leading to the upcoming election, he was one of the front-runners for the post of board president, as the BCCI old guards were looking at a cricketer, who could add value and credibility and revamp the board's image globally. After almost losing out to Brijesh Patel for that position, a dramatic turn of events took place on the night prior to the day of filing nominations for elections, and he secured the position.

Mahim Verma: Recently appointed as the secretary of the Cricket Association of Uttarakhand, there isn't a lot to Mahim Verma's credit as a cricket administrator so far. In fact, one of the prime reasons he gets such a lift in the BCCI hierarchy is because Rajiv Shukla failed to get the due clearance from the court to be contesting in the elections. However, now that he is set to be appointed as the vice president of the board, it's his big opportunity to make a mark.

Jay Shah: Son of home minister Amit Shah, Jay Shah has been involved with Gujarat cricket's administration for the last five years, and is also credited with the upcoming project of the world's biggest cricket stadium, set to be built in Ahmadabad. He is set to become the next BCCI secretary. His presence in the big seat of Indian cricket is primarily a result of the power wielded by his father in the political setup of the country.

Jayesh George: A veteran administrator of Kerala Cricket Association, Jayesh George will became only the second person from his state - after SK Nair - to be a BCCI office-bearer. The post, which was expected to go to Devajit Saikia, came his way late in the day, primarily as a result of Sourav Ganguly pipping Brijesh Patel to the post of president. He remains possibly N Srinivasan's most trusted aide among the office bearers who are set to take office on October 23.

Arun Dhumal: Brother of former BCCI President Anurag Thakur, Arun Dhumal's rise to becoming a BCCI office bearer is also linked to the influence of India's ruling party in the running of cricket. Even though he has been involved with the running of cricket in Himachal Pradesh as a secretary of the association for several years, he has largely remained in the shadows of his brother as an administrator. He was recently appointed the president of Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association and is now set to become BCCI's treasurer.

Brijesh Patel: A former India player, Brijesh Patel has also been a veteran cricket administrator. Having primarily served in Karnataka, he has been at the forefront of improved infrastructure in the state - multiple grounds, KPL and better pay for players. A close ally of N Srinivasan, he nearly missed out on becoming the BCCI president but has been chosen as the Governing Council Member for IPL instead.

Cricket Association of Mizoram's Khairul Jamal Majumdar (Governing Council Member) and Chhattisgarh State Cricket Sangh's Prabhtej Singh Bhatia (Councillor) are the other candidates who have filed their nominations to be a part of the BCCI's apex council. Other than them, Anshuman Gaekwad and Shanta Rangaswamy have been appointed as the male and female ICA representatives to the council. It would also include a member of CAG.

Live Home Series
Player Schedule
Points Table Cricket Rankings
Cricket Clothing Cricket Equipment
Cricinfo Apps Download