Karnataka, Gujarat, Sail, Vijay Hazare Semi-Finals > Cricket News, cricinfo, mobilecric, cricbuzz, livescore and more

Cricket news - Karnataka, Gujarat sail into Vijay Hazare semifinals

KL Rahul's knock of 90 helped Karnataka to a comfortable win

Karnataka vs Puducherry, Quarterfinal 1

It was always going to be a big step-up for Plate-toppers Puducherry in the quarter-final, and so it proved. Karnataka, the toppers of Elite Group A & B, beat them by eight wickets at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru to secure a place in the semifinal.

Sent in to bat, Puducherry were at one time reeling at 41 for 6 when Sagar Trivedi and Vikneshwaran Marimuthu hit fifties to help put 76 runs for the seventh wicket. The duo helped Puducherry fight past Praveen Dubey's three-wicket haul to post 207 for 9 in 50 overs, a total that Karnataka mauled down with ease in only 41 overs.

KL Rahul led the effort with a sublime 90, featuring eight fours and a six, and he was well supported by fifties from in-form Devdutt Padikkal and Rohan Kadam. After a 98-run opening stand that came on the back of an expensive first spell from Vinay Kumar, the former Karnataka player, Rahul helped put another 88 runs for the second wicket with Kadam, reducing the run-chase to a mere formality.

Brief scores: Puducherry 207/9 in 50 overs (Vikneshwaran Marimuthu 58; Sagar Trivedi 54; Praveen Dubey 3-44) lost to Karnataka 213/2 in 41 overs (KL Rahul 90; Sagar Udeshi 2-47) by 8 wickets.

Delhi vs Gujarat, Quarterfinal 2

In a match reduced to 49-overs-per-side due to rain, Gujarat trumped Delhi by six wickets at the Just Cricket Academy in Bengaluru to secure a semifinal berth. Opting to bowl, Gujarat restricted Delhi to 223 with the help of three-wicket hauls from Chintan Gaja and Arzan Nagwaswalla. Delhi captain Dhurv Shorey scored 91 to help his side overcome a rocky start, which had them stuttering at 17 for 2, but Shorey's wicket to Nagwaswalla in the 38th over meant that Delhi endured a limp finish, losing the last six wickets for 55 runs.

In reply, Gujarat openers Parthiv Patel and Priyank Panchal put on a quick-fire 150-run opening stand inside 24 overs. Both were out in a space of about four overs but the bulk of the run-scoring had been done by then. Dhruv Rawal, with his 34 not out, steered the side home with 11.1 overs to spare.

Brief scores: Delhi 223 in 49 overs (Dhruv Shorey 91; Chintan Gaja 3-27) lost to Gujarat 225/4 in 37.5 overs (Priyank Panchal 80, Parthiv Patel 76; Simarjeet Singh 2-52) by 6 wickets.

Live Home Series
Player Schedule
Points Table Cricket Rankings
Cricket Clothing Cricket Equipment
Cricinfo Apps Download