Karnataka, Tamil Nadu Configuration Of The South Derby For Vijay Hazare Final > Cricket News, cricinfo, mobilecric, cricbuzz, livescore and more

Cricket news - Karnataka, Tamil Nadu set up Southern derby for Vijay Hazare final

Devdutt Padikkal and KL Rahul put up a 155-run opening stand.

Karnataka v Chhattisgarh

Chhattisgarh were no match against a full-strength Karnataka side as the hosts, chasing 224, completed a nine-wicket victory to seal a spot in the Vijay Hazare final for the fourth time in the history of the tournament.

Karnataka skipper, Manish Pandey had no hesitation in bowling first owing to the moisture on the surface and predictions of rain late in the afternoon. The decision to do so paid rich dividends as the opening bowler V Koushik ripped through Chhattisgarh's top order leaving no room for momentum in the powerplay overs. Despite the rebuilding efforts of skipper Harpreet Singh and Amandeep Khare, the visitors kept losing wickets at regular intervals and thus, bundled out for a modest score of 223 inside 50 overs.

The chase was made to look like a cakewalk, thanks to Karnataka's top three who had their fair share of fun with the bat before hunting down the target with ten overs to spare. Openers Devdutt Padikkal and KL Rahul put up a 155-run opening stand with the former missing out on a well-deserved ton. Mayank Agarwal, who walked in at three, put up the finishing touches with a 33-ball 47 to complete a resounding victory for his home team.

Brief scores: Chhattisgarh 223 all-out (Amandeep Khare 78; V Koushik 4-46) lost to Karnataka 229/1 (Devdutt Padikkal 92, KL Rahul 88*; Ajay Jadav Mandal 1-51) by nine wickets.

Gujarat v Tamil Nadu

Just a few miles away from the Chinnaswamy stadium, Tamil Nadu emerged victors against Gujarat in a truncated contest to enter the finals for the sixth time in the history of the tournament. The game was reduced to 40-overs per side due to wet outfield conditions at the Just Cricket Academy in Bangalore.

The addition of India's ace Test spinner Ravi Ashwin proved too good for Priyank Panchal, who danced down the wicket early on in his innings, only to gift a stumping chance to Tami Nadu's skipper Dinesh Karthik in the fourth over of the game. Six balls later, Parthiv Patel was trapped plumb lbw by Washington Sundar and that meant both Gujarat openers were back in the hut inside five overs.

Deprived of a solid foundation at the top, Gujarat's middle and lower-middle order were strangled by spin and hence, only two batters managed to get past the 30-run mark. The experienced Axar Patel too felt the pressure of a knock-out game and lack of support at the other end meant Gujarat could only muster 177 at the end of 40 overs.

Tamil Nadu, were made to work hard for every single run after they lost two of their top three batsmen inside ten overs. There were moments of concern when they lost half the side for 96, but the arrival of promising talent Sharukh Khan calmed the nerves in the Tamil Nadu dressing room as he along with Washington Sundar, engineered an 85-run stand for the sixth wicket to complete the formalities in the penultimate over of the game.

Brief scores: Gujarat 177 for 9 (Dhruv Raval 40; M Mohammed 3-23) lost to Tamil Nadu 181 for 5 (Shahrukh Khan 56*; Chintan Gaja 1-21) by five wickets.

Live Home Series
Player Schedule
Points Table Cricket Rankings
Cricket Clothing Cricket Equipment
Cricinfo Apps Download