> Cricket News, cricinfo, mobilecric, cricbuzz, livescore and more

Cricket news -

Shane Watson has been elected as the president of the Australian Cricketers' Association (ACA). The 38-year-old is now a part of an extended ten-member board, which includes three new faces: current Australian players Pat Cummins and Kristen Beams, and former Australian cricketer Lisa Sthalekar.

Aaron Finch, Alyssa Healy, Moises Henriques, Neil Maxwell, Janet Torney and Greg Dyer are the other members on the board.

"I am truly honoured to be elected as the President of the ACA as it evolves into the future. I have big shoes to fill with the people who have gone before me and I am super excited about this opportunity to continue to give back to the game that has given me so much," Watson said in a tweet.

"Through a period of immense change, the players have been, and will continue to be, a strong voice in protecting what's made our game of cricket great, while embracing opportunities that change inevitably brings," Watson added in a statement.

"This policy, amid a host of other changes, assures Australian women that cricket is a sport which can now support you and your family," he said. "And for girls coming through who love sport, like my daughter, it says that cricket is a sport where you will be able to have a career."

The expanded ACA board is part of a revised governance structure approved at the AGM held on November 11 in Sydney. The ACA will now also manage the Australian Cricketers' Retirement Account, which benefits Australia's professional cricketers once their careers are over. The revised structure also splits the role of President and Chair, the latter held by Greg Dyer.

"I'm excited to work even closer alongside Greg, as he's someone I've always enjoyed spending time with," said Watson. "He's an incredibly successful man in his own right, and everything he's been able to bring to the ACA over his time as President has been immense."

Live Home Series
Player Schedule
Points Table Cricket Rankings
Cricket Clothing Cricket Equipment
Cricinfo Apps Download