ADM: Madhya Pradesh-slam-244, Mumbai Remain Unbeaten > Cricket News, cricinfo, mobilecric, cricbuzz, livescore and more

Cricket news - SMA: Madhya Pradesh slam 244, Mumbai remain unbeaten

Naman Ojha scored a 35-ball 56 as MP racked up a massive 244.

Madhya Pradesh slam 244 against Meghalaya

Opting to bat at the Wankhede, Naman Ojha (35-ball 56) and Ashutosh Sharma (27-ball 60) got Madhya Pradesh off to a flier as the duo raised their hundred partnership inside ten overs. Although both fell in quick succession after completing their fifties, Rajat Patidar (29-ball 68) kept the scoreboard racing, smashing five fours and five sixes as the team finished at 244 for 4. In reply, Puneet Bisht (19-ball 44) swung his willow around to have a crack at the target, but Meghalaya did not have the experience to put up a tough fight and conceded an 85-run victory.

Five out of five for Mumbai

Shubam Ranjane first did his part with the ball, taking three wickets and then hit the winning runs off the last ball to ensure Mumbai remain the only unbeaten team in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy thus far in the tournament. Bengal had a good start with the openers adding 67, but Ranjane removed Abhimanyu Easwaran, Manoj Tiwary and Vivek Singh in the middle overs to keep Bengal under 160.

In reply, Mumbai too got off to a solid start, but lost Jay Bista, Shreyas Iyer, Siddesh Lad and Shivam Dube in the space of 3 runs. It came down to 15 needed off 7 balls, after which Ranjane played a cheeky reverse lap shot to the third man boundary with 4 runs required off the final ball of the game.

The low-scorers

Tamil Nadu crushed Manipur in Thiruvananthapuram in a contest that could barely be called one. None of the Manipur batsmen recorded a double-digit score as T Natarajan and Murugan Ashwin took three wickets each before bundling them out for 55. Dinesh Karthik's men chased down the target in 5.1 overs.

Meanwhile, Gujarat ran through Sikkim in Surat. Chintan Gaja, Tejas Patel and Axar Patel bagged two wickets apiece, while Piyush Chawla rattled them with three wickets as they were knocked over for a mere 49. Gujarat cruised to victory in just 4.2 overs.

4-fers and more

Pankaj Jaiswal was instrumental in restricting Arunachal Pradesh to 118 for 6. He got a wicket each in his first two overs, before doing his bit at the death. Ekant Sen (51) and Kanwar Abhinay Singh (41) then ensured Himachal Pradesh crossed the line with 34 balls to spare.

For Punjab, Siddarth Kaul played a pivotal role in pegging Railways back after a good start. In his final spell, he came back to account for three more wickets, thereby ensuring Punjab only had a very chasable 168 in front. Anmolpreet Singh (56-ball 84) fought hard despite losing partners but lack of support from the middle and lower-orders meant Railways eked out a thrilling 5-run win.

Malliksab Sirur took matters in his own hands for Goa as he took a five-wicket haul to stem the run flow to an extent after Services had a century opening partnership. However, his batsmen were unable to handle the pressure of a big chase and they fell short by 21 runs.

Live Home Series
Player Schedule
Points Table Cricket Rankings
Cricket Clothing Cricket Equipment
Cricinfo Apps Download