Chandigarh Record Sleeves Win On Ranji Debut > Cricket News, cricinfo, mobilecric, cricbuzz, livescore and more

Cricket news - Chandigarh record innings win on Ranji debut

Gurinder Singh, the left-arm spinner, was the star for Chandigarh as he finished with 6 for 50

Gurinder Singh, the left-arm spinner, was the star for Chandigarh as he finished with 6 for 50

Prerak Mankad's unbeaten 47 helped Saurashtra begin this edition of the Ranji Trophy on a winning note as they secured a five-wicket victory in a low-scoring encounter against Himachal Pradesh. Needing 162 for victory, Saurashtra, who started the day at 96 for 3, lost Chirag Jani early. Cheteshwar Pujara fell for 14 after a 31-run stand with Mankad, giving Himachal a ray of hope. However, Mankad held his nerve and helped his team over the line.

Chandigarh had a dream start to their maiden Ranji campaign as they breezed past Arunachal Pradesh an innings and 173 runs. Gurinder Singh, the 27-year-old left-arm spinner, was the star of the day as he finished with 6 for 50 to bowl Arunachal out for 183, with four wickets going down for the addition of only 19 runs on the day.

Rajesh Mohanty and Suryakant Pradhan bagged four wickets apiece to help Odisha complete a comfortable victory by an innings and 3 runs against Chhattisgarh. Starting the day at 45 for 1, Chhattisgarh lost Jiwanjot Singh early, which was followed by a 21-run stand. However, the innings fell apart soon after as Chhattisgarh lost their last eight wickets for the addition of only seven runs to slip to an embarrassing loss.

There were a few hiccups for Manipur in their chase of 67 against Mizoram but they eventually managed to get over the line with six wickets in hand. Bobby Zothansanga and Taruwar Kohli bagged two wickets apiece to leave Manipur at 36 for 4 before unbeaten knocks from Sagatpam Jayanta and Sultan Karim helped them to victory.

Ram Dayal's five-wicket haul in the second innings helped him finish with nine wickets in the match against Uttarakhand as Jammu & Kashmir registered a 253-run victory. Starting the day at 18 for 3, Uttarakhand failed to muster a collective display with the bat which saw them slipping to a big loss despite a fighting 55 from debutant Dikshanshu Negi. Mohammed Mudhasir was also amongst the wickets, adding a couple of scalps in the second innings having picked up a fifer in the first, while Umar Nazir Mir bagged two wickets as well

A last-wicket stand worth 61 runs between Laxman Chettri and Dippu Sangma, followed by a good performance with the ball, helped Meghalaya defeat Nagaland by 110 runs. Imliwati Lemtur bagged six wickets in the second innings to add to his seven in the first but his 13-wicket haul was overshadowed by Sanjay Yadav's 13 wickets. Yadav, who picked up nine in the first innings, added four more to his tally in the second, with Dwaraka Ravi Teja and Puneet Bisht picking up two each to bowl Nagaland out for 181 in a chase of 292.

Having been undefeated in the previous edition of the Ranji Trophy, Bihar finally tasted defeat when they were overpowered by Puducherry who clinched a 10-wicket victory and picked up seven points. Starting the day at 61 for 4 in their second innings, Bihar were bowled out for 196 with Vinay Kumar picking up four wickets. Arun Karthik and Paras Dogra's unbeaten knocks helped Puducherry achieve the 70-run target without much fuss.

Live Home Series
Player Schedule
Points Table Cricket Rankings
Cricket Clothing Cricket Equipment
Cricinfo Apps Download