Nkrumah Bonner Concussed After Blow To Helmet > Cricket News, cricinfo, mobilecric, cricbuzz, livescore and more

Cricket news - Nkrumah Bonner concussed after blow to helmet

File Photo: Nkrumah Bonner.

File Photo: Nkrumah Bonner.

Nkrumah Bonner suffered a concussion during the first day of the opening Test against South Africa in St. Lucia. West Indies' No.3 batsman was struck on the badge of his helmet by a sharp bouncer from Anrich Nortje and didn't take the field for South Africa's innings with Kieran Powell replacing him.

Bonner was hit off the first ball he faced with South Africa even using the DRS referral to check for a possible ball contact with the glove on its way to the helmet. After an assessment, he continued to bat on for 32 deliveries before eventually falling to Kagiso Rabada for 10. After West Indies were bowled for 97, he didn't step back on to the field with Cricket West Indies confirming the concussion on Twitter.

Windies Cricket @windiescricket #WIvSA Nkrumah Bonner is currently concussed after receiving a blow to his helmet in the 1st innings ???????? Kieran Powell replaces him in the field #WIvSA 06:24 PM • Jun 06, 2021

As per concussion substitute protocols, the match referee Sir Richie Richardson is the final authority to consent the like-for-like replacement, meaning Powell can replace Bonner for the remainder of the game.