Javeria Khan To Lead 26-member Contingent On West Indies Tour > Cricket News, cricinfo, mobilecric, cricbuzz, livescore and more

Cricket news - Javeria Khan to lead 26-member contingent on West Indies tour

Javeria Khan is Pakistan's leading run-scorer in ODIs.

Javeria Khan is Pakistan's leading run-scorer in ODIs.

Pakistan selectors announced a 26-member long list of players for Pakistan women's tour of West Indies from which both the main team and the 'A' team players will be selected. Javeria Khan will lead the national side in the series that gets underway on June 30. Rameen Shamim has been named captain of Pakistan Women's 'A' team for the three one-dayers while wicketkeeper Sidra Nawaz will handle the leadership duties of the 'A' team for the three T20s.

Squad: Javeria Khan (captain, national team), Rameen Shamim (One-Day captain, 'A' team), Sidra Nawaz (T20 captain, 'A' team), Aliya Riaz, Aiman Anwar, Anam Amin, Ayesha Naseem, Ayesha Zafar, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Iram Javed, Jaweria Rauf, Kainat Imtiaz, Kaynat Hafeez, Maham Tariq, Muneeba Ali Siddiqui (wk), Nahida Khan, Najiha Alvi (wk), Nashra Sundhu, Natalia Parvaiz, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Saba Nazir, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, and Syeda Aroob Shah.

"This is a historic occasion in the history of Pakistan women's cricket as for the first time national side and the 'A' team are travelling together," said Urooj Mumtaz, the chairperson of the national women's selection committee. "The Caribbean tour presents a phenomenal opportunity to our core group of cricketers to showcase their performances and further cement places for the 2021-22 season, which promises to be an exciting one for women's cricket.

"These 26 players have been involved in all our high-performance camps over the past nine months and have put in the hard yards under the national coaching staff led by David Hemp. The group has prepared with high intensity and purpose. They remain focused and determined to put up winning performances.

"The 'A' team matches are a great incentive and motivation for the players at the periphery to stake a claim in the national side, as exceptional performances will be rewarded by players getting bumped up to the national side and those who are unable to perform at the top can continue to get competitive matches in the 'A' side," she added.

The Caribbean-bound players, coaching staff and team officials will arrive in Lahore on Monday (June 21) and will leave for Antigua via London on June 23. The contingent will undergo COVID-19 tests on Monday and will be allowed to fly only after testing negative. Once they reach Antigua, they will head for room isolation and will be tested two times in five days.

The first three T20Is will be played at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium on June 30, July 2 and July 4, with the 'A' team T20 games also taking place at the same venue on the same dates. Pakistan will play the ODIs on July 7 and July 9 at the Coolidge Cricket Ground while the next two ODIs will be played on July 12 and July 15 at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium. The final ODI will be played on July 18 at the Coolidge Cricket Ground.