Gaikwad, Venkatesh Iyer Tons Light Up Round 2

Cricket News By TODAYLIVESCORE.INFO - Gaikwad, Venkatesh Iyer tons light up Round 2. Venkatesh Iyer's third List A century powered Madhya Pradesh to their second successive victory

Gaikwad, Venkatesh Iyer Tons Light Up Round 2Venkatesh Iyer's third List A century powered Madhya Pradesh to their second successive victory

Ruturaj Gaikwad headlined the action in Vijay Hazare Trophy yet again on Thursday (December 9), as his century helped Maharashtra to a comfortable win. Elsewhere, Tamil Nadu thrashed Karnataka, Pondicherry upset Bengal and Hyderabad eased past Delhi.

Top batting performers

Gaikwad scored his second successive ton and helped Maharashtra to another win. The opener stroked 14 boundaries and 5 sixes in his 143-ball knock as Maharashtra comfortably chased down the 276-run target set by Chhattisgarh with 8 wickets in hand.

Venkatesh Iyer's third List A century powered Madhya Pradesh to their second successive victory. The hard-hitting southpaw's 84-ball 112 helped Madhya Pradesh to a 40-run win over Kerala in the high-scoring encounter in Rajkot.

Chirag Khurana scored his second consecutive ton, leading the way for Meghalaya's thrilling one-run win over Bihar. The former Maharashtra batsman slammed 10 boundaries and two sixes.

Kathan Patel's maiden List A ton proved futile as Odisha overhauled Gujarat's total of 224 for 9, securing their second successive win

Atharva Taide's unbeaten 164 – his second List A ton helped Vidarbha overhaul Andhra's massive 287 for 8. Taide's 123-ball innings included 15 boundaries and 5 sixes to help his side to an 8-wicket win, with 50 balls to spare.

Tilak Varma's third List A ton helped Hyderabad down Delhi. The 19-year-old smashed seven boundaries and eight sixes before Delhi's innings was shut 79 runs short.

Mohammed Nazim's maiden List A ton overshadowed a similar feat by Rinku Singh as Uttar Pradesh were handed their second successive defeat. Nazim's 116 included 15 boundaries and 4 sixes as Jharkhand secured an 8-wicket win.

Vishnu Solanki's 94 went in vain as Mumbai registered a 13-run win (VJD Method) in a rain-hit contest over Baroda.

Bishal Ghosh's unbeaten 119 helped Tripura register a comfortable 86-run win over Manipur.

Top bowling performances of the day

R Sai Kishore and M Siddharth combined to bag seven wickets to help Tamil Nadu register a crucial win over Karnataka. Karnataka folded up for 122, a total which was overhauled with 8 wickets in hand.

Dharmendrasinh Jadeja's four-fer bundled out Haryana for 127, as Saurashtra secured a five-wicket win.

Rajesh Bishnoi Jr's four-fer went in vain as Nagaland cruised to a comfortable 5-wicket win over Arunachal.

Shubham Sharma's spell of 5 for 12 – his maiden fifer in domestic cricket – helped Rajasthan register their second successive win, beating Goa by 84 runs.

Mayank Markande four-fer helped Punjab restrict Railways to 249, a total that was surpassed in 49 overs.

All-rounders of the day

Rishi Dhawan scored a crucial 52-ball 44 before triggering Jammu and Kashmir's collapse with returns of 3 for 44. His efforts helped Himachal register a 63-run win.

Shahbaz Ahmad's all-round show (60-ball 85 and 1 for 15 in five overs) went in vain as Puducherry clinched a surprise win in the rain-hit match against Bengal. Puducherry reached 132 for 2 in 20 overs after restricting Bengal to 264.

Leave a Comment