India Reach Fourth Successive U19 World Cup Final

Cricket News By TODAYLIVESCORE.INFO - India reach fourth successive U19 World Cup final. Yash Dhull scored a run-a-ball 110

India Reach Fourth Successive U19 World Cup FinalYash Dhull scored a run-a-ball 110

Yash Dhull and his deputy Shaik Rasheed added 204 runs for the third wicket to successfully bat Australia out of the contest, guiding India to their fourth successive Under-19 World Cup final with 96-run victory. Dhull scored a century in the process while Rasheed fell six short, as India posted 290 for 5 in 50 overs which proved to be far too much for the chasing Australian side. India now face England – another team on a similar unbeaten run – in the summit clash.

Australia began well by taking out the India openers for cheap by the 13th over but that brought the third-wicket pair together. Between them they 18 fours and two sixes and played out 200 deliveries to build the Indian innings up from scratch. Both were cautious to begin with but grew into the innings as Australia tried different bowling option in futility. Dhull got to his half-century first – off 65 balls – and upped his scoring rate a notch since that point on without taking too many risks.

The strong foundation for a late flourish was laid by the pair with 68 runs coming between the 30th and 40th over, taking them from 114 for 2 to 182 for 2. At that stage India were primed to get as close to the 250-run mark as possible, but managed to do far better because of what followed in the next five overs. It began with three successive fours from Rasheed – pulled through midwicket, punched through cover and dabbed to thirdman – to get the ball rolling for the flourish. Dhull, who a few overs before needed treatment to his back, took the cue and took on Cooper Connolly before ruining right-arm quick Tom Whitney's commendable bowling figures up to that point. Whitney made it easy for the Indian captain by repeatedly bowling short and getting punished, as Dhull reached his century in the over which brought India 19 runs. It meant, India rached away to 237 for 2 with five more overs to spare.

The partnership, which swelled past 200, was broken by a bit of ill-luck for India as Dhull was caught out of his ground when a straight drive from Rasheed was ricocheted onto the stumps at the non-striker's end by the bowler Jack Nisbet. A ball later, Rasheed followed his captain – cutting a short ball to Jack Sinfield at backward point. The decision got referred but there wasn't enough conclusive proof for the third umpire to overturn the soft signal that was given in Australia's favour. While Dhull walked back for a run-a-ball 110, Rasheed exited at 94 off 108.

To two new batsmen, William Salzmann bowled an incredible 47th over conceding just one run but Nishant Sindhu and Rajvardhan Hangargekar quickly found ways to throw their bat around. Hangargekar took on Nisbet in a 15-run over before being bowled by a low full toss from Salzmann in the following over. Australia were still with a chance of tying down India to a gettable total, but Sindhu and Dinesh Bana smashed two fours and three sixes in the final over from Tom Whitney that earned the batting side 27 runs, taking them to 290 for 5.

India's ruthlessness continued in the second half of the fixture. Australia built a brisk second-wicket partnership with Campbell Kellaway and Corey Miller, only for India's left-arm spin trio of Hangargekar, Sindhu and Vicky Ostwal to step in and derail the chase. Once Hangargekar broke the stand with Miller's wicket, Sindhu and Ostwal ripped into Australia's middle-order.

Australia went from 71 for 1 in the 17th over to 125 for 7, with all the six wickets falling to the spinners. Ostwal finished with 3 for 42 – India's best in the game – taking his World Cup tally to 12 wickets. His and Sindhu's effectiveness through the middle-overs meant Lachlan Shaw's fighting 50 was a mere consolation for Australia as they were bundled out for 194 in the 42nd over.

Brief Scores: India 290/5 in 50 overs (Yash Dhull 110, Shaik Rasheed 94; Jack Nisbet 2-41, William Salzmann 2-57) beat Australia 194 in 41.5 overs (Lachlan Shaw 51; Vicky Ostwal 3-42, Nishant Sindhu 2-25, Ravi Kumar 2-37) by 96 runs

Leave a Comment