IPL 2022 Retentions: Rashid, Hardik Released; Mayank Retained

Cricket News By TODAYLIVESCORE.INFO - IPL 2022 Retentions: Rashid, Hardik released; Mayank retained. Both KL Rahul and Hardik Pandya weren't retained by their franchises

IPL 2022 Retentions: Rashid, Hardik Released; Mayank RetainedBoth KL Rahul and Hardik Pandya weren't retained by their franchises

KL Rahul, Rashid Khan and Hardik Pandya are among the big names that haven't been retained by their franchises as BCCI unveiled the retention lists on Tuesday (November 30) ahead of the mega action. The three players – along with other released players – will now be in the pool from which the two new IPL teams, Ahmedabad and Lucknow, will have up to three picks each (2 Indian, 1 foreign).

KL Rahul's decoupling from Punjab Kings, as reported by Cricbuzz earlier, came in as a windfall for Mayank Agarwal, who happened to be the first player to be retained by the franchise for INR 14 crore. Uncapped Arshdeep Singh was the second player to be retained, for INR 4 crore.

Expectedly, the likes of Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja and Rishabh Pant were retained by their respective teams. Jadeja was the first pick for CSK, being retained for INR 16 crore ahead of MS Dhoni (INR 12 crore).

Among foreign players, Glenn Maxwell, Jos Buttler, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell and Anrich Nortje were retained. Allrounder Kieron Pollard made the cut for Mumbai Indians whereas Moeen Ali was chosen over the likes of Sam Curran, Faf du Plessis and Dwayne Bravo at Chennai Super Kings.

“We wanted to retain him (KL Rahul),” PBKS head coach Anil Kumble told while announcing the retentions. “That was the reason we chose him as the captain, as the fulcrum of the team two years ago but he decided to go into the auction. We respect that, it's the player's prerogative.”

On Rashid Khan, the CEO of Sunrisers Hyderabad, K Shammi, said: “If a player wants to be in the auction because of the price, we respect his decision. We will try and match him and see if we can pick him in the auction for the right price.”

Mohammed Siraj by RCB, Ruturaj Gaikwad by CSK, Yashasvi Jaiswal by RR and Venkatesh Iyer by KKR stood out as decisions made keeping the future in mind.

Pant was the first pick for DC, who went for all-rounder Axar Patel as their second pick ahead of Prithvi Shaw and Anrich Nortje. The South African pacer was picked over his fellow countryman Kagiso Rabada.

At MI, there was a surprise in store with Suryakumar Yadav getting retained ahead of allrounder Hardik and wicketkeeper-batsman Ishan Kishan.

Sanju Samson, the RR captain in the 2021 season, was also retained by the franchise. Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer were among the players released by RR.

At SRH, Williamson was picked as the first player, something that Rashid was looking at too as a second pick costs INR 4 crore less. But SRH ruled in favour of captain Williamson and have also gone ahead and retained all-rounder Abdul Samad and fast bowler Umran Malik who made his debut in the last season.

Overall, MI, CSK, DC and KKR retained 4 players each, the maximum allowed. Punjab Kings retained only two players, the least out of all the eight teams. KKR were the only team to retain two foreign players.

Leave a Comment