Karnataka, Vidarbha And Kerala Book Quarters Berth

Cricket News By TODAYLIVESCORE.INFO - Karnataka, Vidarbha and Kerala book quarters berth. [File picture] Samson scored a fifty for Kerala

Karnataka, Vidarbha And Kerala Book Quarters Berth[File picture] Samson scored a fifty for Kerala

Maharashtra vs Vidarbha

Half-centuries from Akshay Wadkar and Atharva Taide followed a solid performance with the ball from Vidarbha in the second half of the first innings as they defeated Maharashtra by seven wickets in the pre-quarterfinal to progress to the next stage. Having restricted Maharashtra to 157/8, Vidarbha chased the total down in 17.5 overs. Vidarbha will face off against Rajasthan in the quarterfinal at the Palam ground in New Delhi.

Opting to bowl, Yash Thakur struck in the second over to trap Naushad Shaikh in front for a first-ball duck but a half-century stand involving Rahul Tripathi (66 off 45) and Yash Nahar set a good platform for Maharashtra. They were well-placed at 91/2 in the 11th over but Kedar Jadhav fell cheaply and Maharashtra while the big blow came at the start of the 16th over when the well-set Tripathi was dismissed by Akshay Wakhare. Maharashtra were only able to add 36 runs in the last five overs as Thakur (3-17) and Akshay Karnewar (2-25) led a disciplined effort with the ball.

Vidarbha suffered an early setback in the chase when Siddhesh Wath was bowled by Mukesh Choudhary in the first over without scoring. But Taide and skipper Wadkar put on a 96-run stand in 11.3 overs to put Vidarbha on track in the chase. The partnership came to an end when Taide, who had struck six fours and a six, fell to Azim Kazi. But Wadkar stayed till the end, while Jitesh Sharma provided the finishing touches with an unbeaten 28 off 7 that included two fours and three sixes.

Brief scores: Maharashtra 157/8 in 20 overs (Rahul Tripathi 66, Yash Nahar 29; Yash Thakur 3-17) lost to Vidarbha 160/3 in 17.5 overs (Akshay Wadkar 58*, Atharva Taide 56; Mukesh Choudhary 1-24) by 7 wickets.

Himachal Pradesh vs Kerala

Mohammed Azharuddeen and Sanju Samson struck half-centuries as Kerala secured a victory in the last over against Himachal Pradesh to book a spot in the quarterfinals. Himachal posted a total of 145/6, with Raghav Dhawan scoring a 52-ball 65. Kerala got over the line with three deliveries to spare and eight wickets in hand, and will face Tamil Nadu in their quarterfinal game at the Arun Jaitley Stadium.

Opting to bowl, Kerala struck in the first over as Ankush Bains was out LBW to U Manukrishnan for a duck. A 45-run stand between Dhawan and Prashant Chopra came at more than a run-a-ball before Kerala struck twice to leave Himachal at 47/3. Dhawan, who was on 8 at the time of Chopra's dismissal, scored bulk of the team's runs but he received little support from the other end as Akash Vasisht struggled for his 12 off 17. Digvijay Rangi struck a four and a six in his 17* off 9 as Himachal finished with a total in excess of 140.

Kerala were off the blocks quickly in the chase with Rohan Kunnummal scoring 22 off the 34 managed in the opening stand. Azharuddeen and Samson then combined for a 98-run second wicket stand, with the former scoring 4 fours and two sixes in his 60 off 57. While Azharuddeen was dismissed by Pankaj Jaiswal, Samson remained unbeaten on 52 off 39, which included 6 fours and a six, to help Kerala win in the final over.

Brief scores: Himachal Pradesh 145/6 in 20 overs (Raghav Dhawan 65, Prashant Chopra 36; S Midhun 2-26) lost to Kerala 147/2 in 19.3 overs (Mohammed Azharuddeen 60, Sanju Samson 52*; Ayush Jamwal 1-21) by 8 wickets.

Karnataka vs Saurashtra

Abhinav Manohar struck an unbeaten 70 off 49 to lead Karnataka's hard-fought two-wicket victory against Saurashtra to enter the quarterfinals. Vijaykumar Vyshak and KC Cariappa starred in a disciplined effort with the ball that kept Saurashtra to 145/7 despite Sheldon Jackson's 43-ball 50. Karnataka lost wickets at regular intervals in the chase but Manohar stood tall as he struck six sixes and two fours to help his side over the line and seal a date with Punjab in their next encounter at the Arun Jaitley Stadium.

Opting to bat, Saurashtra were 10/2 in the first thee overs and could only manage 32 in the powerplay despite V Koushik conceding three fours in the sixth over. Jackson and Arpit Vasavada's promising partnership came to an end in the 10th over, with Saurashtra managing only 55 at the halfway stage. But they quickly got a move on thanks to a flurry of boundaries from Jackson and Prerak Mankad, crossing 100 by the time the 15th over was completed. Despite losing quick wickets in the death overs, Saurashtra managed the much-needed boundaries and ended up with 140-plus, with Koushik returning 2-49.

With Devdutt Padikkal and Mayank Agarwal both not playing this game, Karnataka opened with Sharath BR and Rohan Kadam but the partnership lasted for only four deliveries. Jaydev Unadkat sent Sharath back in the opening over before bagging the big wicket of Manish Pandey in his next. Karun Nair fell in the final over of the powerplay as Karnataka managed only 36/3. Kadam tried to build a partnership with Abhinav Manohar but was run out for 33. Manohar then took charge, belting fours and sixes as he reached a 35-ball fifty to get Karnataka back on track in the chase. Karnataka again lost quick wickets and it came down to the final with them needing five to win. Manohar finished it off with a six off the penultimate ball as Karnataka got into the final eights with a nervy win.

Brief scores: Saurashtra 145/7 in 20 overs (Sheldon Jackson 50, Arpit Vasavada 26; Vijaykumar Vyshak 2-19) lost to Karnataka 150/8 in 19.5 overs (Abhinav Manohar 70*, Rohan Kadam 33; Jaydev Unadkat 4-22) by 2 wickets.

Leave a Comment