McCoy Returns; Rovman Powell Named Vice-captain For Bangladesh T20Is

Cricket News By TODAYLIVESCORE.INFO - McCoy returns; Rovman Powell named vice-captain for Bangladesh T20Is. Rovman Powell has been elevated to T20I vice-captaincy.

McCoy Returns; Rovman Powell Named Vice-captain For Bangladesh T20IsRovman Powell has been elevated to T20I vice-captaincy.

Left-arm fast bowler Obed McCoy has returned to West Indies’ squad for the forthcoming T20I series against Bangladesh. McCoy, a key member in the latter stages of Rajasthan Royals’ run to the IPL final, returns as the two-time world champions attempt a personnel refresh in a quest to identify the best players for this year’s T20 WC.

Among the changes, Shamarh Brooks, Alzarri Joseph, Keemo Paul and Devon Thomas have all returned at the expense of Fabian Allen, Roston Chase and Sheldon Cottrell. West Indies’ selection committee have also elevated Rovman Powell to T20I vice-captaincy.

“We know Rovman’s history. He has captained the West Indies before and is also the captain of his CPL franchise,” chief selector Desmond Haynes said. “Our role is to look at future leaders as well and we have identified a few, including him, who we will be putting through programmes to ensure we keep them involved in that aspect of cricket.

“Thomas is a very versatile cricketer, who has been knocking on the door in all formats. He has been doing well in franchise cricket and with that level of talent, we must ensure we keep him interested. He brings a lot to the table and is basically a four-dimensional player, he can bat, bowl, he is brilliant in the field, and he can keep wicket as well.

“McCoy has done exceptionally well in the IPL and enjoyed a successful stint in England as well, so we are confident that he is back to his best in terms of playing and fitness,” Haynes added.

“Generally, we have to start looking at the bigger picture of getting these players playing together as often as possible in preparation for the T20 WC later in the year. We need to ensure we are fielding a very strong side for that tournament,” Haynes added.

The ODI side, meanwhile, sees a call-up for Gudakesh Motie, who has played a Test and a T20I each. Jason Holder will miss both the white-ball formats after asking for a rest owing to his relentless playing schedule.

The white-ball leg of Bangladesh’s visit begins on July 2 with the first two T20Is at Windsor Park in Dominica. The third T20I and all three ODIs will subsequently be played in Guyana.

T20I Squad: Nicholas Pooran (Captain), Rovman Powell (Vice-Captain), Shamarh Brooks, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Obed McCoy, Keemo Paul, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Devon Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr. Reserve: Dominic Drakes

ODI Squad: Nicholas Pooran (Captain), Shai Hope (Vice-Captain), Shamarh Brooks, Keacy Carty, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Keemo Paul, Anderson Phillip, Rovman Powell, Jayden Seales.

Leave a Comment