Mushfiqur Rahim Rested For Pakistan T20Is

Cricket News By TODAYLIVESCORE.INFO - Mushfiqur Rahim rested for Pakistan T20Is. Mushfiqur Rahim has been rested from the three-match series

Mushfiqur Rahim Rested For Pakistan T20IsMushfiqur Rahim has been rested from the three-match series

Bangladesh selectors have left out Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar and Rubel Hossain from the 16-member squad, announced on Tuesday (November 16), for the upcoming T20I series against Pakistan.

The side has six changes from the one that played in the recently-concluded T20 WC. All-rounders Shakib Al Hasan and Saifuddin are unavailable due to injuries while Mushfiqur Rahim has been rested.

BCB chief selector Minhajul Abedin said, ‘We will play four Test series in a row as part of the ICC Test Championship, and it will begin with Pakistan series. Mushfiqur is one of our key players and with senior cricketers like Tamim set to miss the Test series against Pakistan due to injury, we want Mushfiqur to give his best and that's why we decided to rest him in the T20 series against Pakistan.

”Mushfiqur did not ask for rest and there was no such discussion with him. We have decided to rest him after consulting with the team management.”

Meanwhile, batsman Najmul Hossain Shanto and legspinner Aminul Islam Biplob have returned to the side, while newcomers batsmen Saif Hassan, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, pacer Shohidul Islam and wicketkeeper Akbar Ali have also been called up.

”As we had a miserable World Cup, we have to bring some changes to make a turnaround in the upcoming series. For making a new start, we have called up some new faces. l hope those who got the call up are well prepared for the international arena. They trained while playing for HP. We are hopeful that they will do well,” he said.

The three T20Is are set to be played at the National Stadium in Dhaka, starting November 19.

Meanwhile, Cricbuzz learnt that Shakib had already made himself unavailable for the tour of New Zealand for personal reasons. A member of the selection panel confirmed the development.

Bangladesh will kick-start the new year at the Bay Oval in Tauranga, in what will be the first of a two-match Test series in New Zealand. The teams then head south to Christchurch for the second fixture, starting on January 9. Bangladesh are expected to leave for New Zealand in the latter part of December.

SQUAD: Mahmudullah (captain), Naim Sheikh, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Aminul Islam Biplob, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Shamim Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Saif Hassan, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Shohidul Islam, Akbar Ali

Leave a Comment