Karnataka Secure Super Over Win Against Bengal To Enter Semis

Cricket News By TODAYLIVESCORE.INFO - Tamil Nadu, Vidarbha reach Syed Mushtaq Ali semis. Vijay Shankar scored 33 in his team's win over Kerala

Karnataka Secure Super Over Win Against Bengal To Enter SemisVijay Shankar scored 33 in his team's win over Kerala

Bengal vs Karnataka

Half-centuries were scored by Karun Nair and Writtick Chatterjee while Ritwik Chowdhury struck a terrific 36 not out off 18 balls, but the game wasn't decided yet as Karnataka and Bengal played out a Super Over after both finished with 160. But the Super Over wasn't as exciting as the two innings before. Bengal could only manage 5/2 in the deciding over, with Kaif Ahmed bowled by KC Cariappa and Shreevats Goswami run out for the second time on the same day. Manish Pandey needed only two balls to finish it off as Karnataka completed a jailbreak to enter the semis.

Asked to bat, Karnataka suffered an early setback as Sharath BR had another failure, bowled by Akash Deep for 4. A watchful partnership between Rohan Kadam and Pandey attempted at giving a platform for Karnataka but at 56/2 at the halfway stage of the innings, they really needed to press on. With Pandey departing for a 34-ball 29, the onus was on Nair to lead the team towards a competitive total. While the senior batsman registered a 29-ball 55, it was Abhinav Manohar – hero for Karnataka in their previous game – who struck three fours and a six in his 9-ball 19 that gave the side the impetus towards the death overs. Nair and Aniruddha Joshi ensured a good finish – the No. 4 hit two sixes and a four in the last two overs while Joshi managed a couple of boundaries as Karnataka scored 30 off the 19th and 20th overs combined.

Bengal lost Abhishek Das for a duck while Goswami, who took 20 off Vijaykumar Vyshak in the first over, was run out. But Bengal managed to cross 50 inside the powerplay as Writtick and Sudip Chatterjee put on a useful stand. Sudip fell in the sixth over to Darshan MB but Bengal kept abreast with the scoring rate. Kaif struggled a bit with his scoring rate but Writtick cleared the fence regularly to make up for it. Karnataka hit back through J Suchith's double strike in the 14th over. Writtick, meanwhile, registered a 37-ball fifty amidst fading light before getting out to Darshan. The equation came down to 33 off the last three overs with Ritwik keeping Bengal in the hunt. Bengal needed 20 off the final over and Ritwik hit the first couple of balls from Vidyadhar Patil for sixes. But Karnataka managed to take the game into a Super Over as Akash Deep was run out off the final ball with one required.

Brief scores: Karnataka160/5 (Karun Nair 55*, Rohan Kadam 30; Akash Deep 1-23)tied with Bengal 160/8 in 20 overs (Writtick Chatterjee 51, Ritwik Chowdhury; Darshan MB 3-26, J Suchith 2-24). Karnataka win the Super Over.

Gujarat vs Hyderabad

A clinical performance from Hyderabad ensured a comfortable path to the semifinals as they defeated Gujarat by 30 runs at the Palam ground. Tilak Varma's half-century and useful knocks from Tanmay Agarwal and Buddhi Rahul helped Hyderabad post 158/5. T Ravi Teja and CV Milind did the bulk of the damage with the ball to restrict Gujarat to 128/8.

Put in to bat, Pragnay Reddy was trapped in front early by Chintan Gaja but Hyderabad received a good platform through a positive partnership between Tanmay Agarwal and Varma. Hyderabad's progress slowed down a bit in the third wicket association involving Varma and Himalay Agarwal worth 53 off 8.1 overs but a 50-run stand off 28 deliveries between Varma and Rahul Buddhi helped their side post a total close to 160. Varma struck five fours and two sixes during his 50-ball stay for 75 while Buddhi hit three fours and a six for his 25 not out off 16.

The chase went awry for Gujarat very early, with the openers Urvil Patel and Dhruv Raval getting out inside four overs. With Saurav Chauhan also not contributing much, Gujarat slipped to 33/3 after 8 overs. Het Patel and Piyush Chawla upped the ante with much-needed boundaries but their wickets in quick succession put Gujarat further behind the eight ball. Ripal Patel scored a 24-ball 35 but there wasn't much fight otherwise from Gujarat, who ended up well short of the target.

Brief scores: Hyderabad158/5 in 20 overs (Tilak Varma 75, Tanmay Agarwal 31; Piyush Chawla 2-9) beat Gujarat 128/8 in 20 overs (Ripal Patel 35; T Ravi Teja 3-27, CV Milind 2-28) by 30 runs.

Tamil Nadu vs Kerala

Defending champions Tamil Nadu entered the semifinals following a collective show with the bat to defeat Kerala by 5 wickets at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. Riding on Vishnu Vinod's blistering fifty and a half-century from Rohan Kunnummal, Kerala posted 181/4. Tamil Nadu had four batters crossing 30, with Sai Sudharsan's 46 being the highest, as they chased down the target in the final over.

Although N Jagadeesan fell in the third over for 7, Hari Nishanth had helped Tamil Nadu off to a positive start in the chase. He fell after the powerplay for a 22-ball 32, which was followed by a brisk 57-run stand involving Sudharsan and skipper Vijay Shankar (33 off 26). Sanjay Yadav also came up with a useful 32 off 22 to take Tamil Nadu closer along with Shahrukh Khan, who scored two sixes in his unbeaten 19 off 9.

Earlier, inserted in, Kerala came up with a steady batting performance before kicking on from strength to strength. Rohan Kunnummal was involved in 40-plus stands with Mohammed Azharuddeen and Sachin Baby en route a 43-ball 51. Sanjay Yadav's double strike in the 13th over, when he ended Kunnummal's stay and dismissed Sanju Samson for a duck, came as a boost for Tamil Nadu. But Vishnu Vinod pyrotechnics caughtt Tamil Nadu on the wrong foot as the No. 5 took only 26 balls for his unbeaten 65, belting two fours and seven sixes, to help Kerala past 180 – although it proved insufficient in the end.

Brief scores: Kerala181/4 (Vishnu Vinod 65*, Rohan Kunnummal 51; Sanjay Yadav 2-23)lost to Tamil Nadu 187/5 in 19.3 overs (Sai Sudharsan 46, Vijay Shankar 33; Unnikrishnan Manukrishnan 3-26)by 5 wickets.

Rajasthan vs Vidarbha

A clinical performance with the ball helped Vidarbha register a facile nine-wicket win against Rajasthan in their quarterfinal encounter at the Palam Stadium in Delhi. The six bowlers used by Vidarbha picked up at least a wicket to restrict Rajasthan to 84/8. Vidarbha got over the line with 5.1 overs to spare to book a spot in the semis.

Asked to bat first, Rajasthan slipped to 18/5 inside five overs with Yash Thakur and Co. doing early damage. While Kamlesh Nagarkoti tried to lead the recovery, he was not receiving much support from the other end as Rajasthan were reduced to 52/8 in 13.3 overs. That they managed to bat out the 20 overs without losing any more wickets was an achievement in itself, with Nagarkoti scoring an unbeaten 39 off 48.

Vidarbha weren't in any hurry in the chase, with Atharva Taide and Ganesh Satish putting on a risk-free 63-run stand. Aniket Choudhary ended the opening partnership by dismissing Ganesh Satish but Taide remained till the end, scoring 40 not out off 42 to seal the victory in the 15th over.

Brief scores: Rajasthan84/8 in 20 overs (Kamlesh Nagarkoti 39*; Yash Thakur 2-24, Akshay Karnewar 1-7)lost to Vidarbha 87/1 in 14.5 overs (Atharva Taide 40*, Ganesh Satish 28; Aniket Choudhary 1-4)by 9 wickets.

Leave a Comment